Field of bamboo trees with walkway


DV-2024 Program

Begins Wednesday, October 5, 2022

at 12:00 noon Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

Ends on Tuesday, November 8, 2022

12:00 noon Eastern Standard Time (EST)


The Diversity Immigrant Visa Program (also known as the Green Card or DV Lottery) provides immigrant visas each federal fiscal year for individuals from countries with low rates of immigration to the United States. Essentially, this program provides certain nationalities with the opportunity to win the chance to apply for a green card, without having to qualify in one of the family-based or employment-based categories. For fiscal year 2024, 55,000 diversity visas will be available.   Please beware of fraud and scams.  The online entry application is easy and free.

DV-2024 Program Instructions

The English version of the DV-2024 Program Instructions in PDF format is the only official version. Unofficial translations in additional languages will be added to this webpage as they become available.

Note that those selected in the lottery must still complete the last stage of the green card application process, and will be vetted for grounds of inadmissibility to the U.S., such as criminal and immigration violations. In short, winning the lottery does not guarantee a green card. However, for those who are eligible, this is a low-cost means to qualify to apply for permanent residence in the U.S., and we encourage eligible individuals to do so. Millions of people apply each year so the odds of winning are not great, but it is still worth a try. If you are selected in the lottery, LAC can be of assistance in completion of the remainder of the process.

Ineligible Nationalities

Unless an exception applies, individuals born in the following countries are NOT eligible to apply, because these countries provided more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. in the previous five years:

Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (including Hong Kong SAR), Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea (South Korea), United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

Natives of Macau SAR and Taiwan are eligible to apply.

This update was prepared by Fausta M. Albi, Partner, Larrabee Albi Coker LLP.

Legal Disclaimer:  This is provided for informational purposes only and does not substitute for legal advice based on the circumstances of a specific matter. Immigration laws and policies change frequently, often without notice. It is therefore important to seek direct legal counsel based upon individual circumstances.


<– Back to News Updates