The 2017 Diversity Visa (DV) Lottery Entry Period to Open on October 1, 2015

23:09 30 September in News Updates

The 2017 Diversity Visa (DV) Lottery Online Entry Period will begin at
Noon ET on October 1, 2015, and will end at Noon ET on November 3, 2015.

Applicants may access the eligibility requirements, instructions for application, and FAQs for the 2017 Diversity Immigrant Visa Program at:

The Diversity Immigrant Visa Program (also known as the Green Card Lottery) provides immigrant visas each fiscal year for persons from countries with low rates of immigration to the United States. Essentially, this program provides certain nationalities with the opportunity to win the chance to apply for a green card, without having to qualify in one of the family-based or employment-based categories. For fiscal year 2017, 50,000 diversity visas will be available.

Note that those selected in the lottery must still complete the last stage of the green card application process, and will be vetted for grounds of inadmissibility to the U.S., such as criminal and immigration violations. In short, winning the lottery does not guarantee a green card. However, for those who are eligible, this is a low-cost means to qualify to apply for permanent residence in the U.S., and we encourage eligible individuals to do so. Millions of people apply each year so the odds of winning are not great, but it is still worth a try. If you are selected in the lottery, LAC can be of assistance in completion of the remainder of the process.

Fraud warning: Please note that there is no cost whatsoever to apply for the DV lottery. Some individuals have sought to profit from the lottery by charging a fee to apply on someone’s behalf and/or stating that using their service will increase one’s chances of winning. Please beware of any such scams.

For the next fiscal year, individuals born in the following countries are NOT eligible to apply, because these countries provided more than 50,000 immigrants to the U.S. in the previous five years: Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (mainland-born), Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Haiti, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, South Korea, United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and Vietnam.

Persons born in Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR, and Taiwan ARE eligible to apply.


<– Back to News Updates